Resolution explanation, especially for Virtual Desktop

I am not a VR owner yet, but this is probably only a couple days away now. I’m a programmer that work in IT and I really like to understand everything perfectly before commiting to something.

There is some technical stuff I do not understand about VR, especially for stuff other than VR games, so I could use your knowledge!

I am really contemplating a Pimax 4K, even though I realize the real input resolution is 1440P.

First: Resolution in virtual desktop. One of the main interest I have for VR is the virtual desktop application, especially to play normal games on a giant screen with Tridef3d. The confusing part for me, is at what resolution would the giant screen theater be rendering? Let’s say I set a game at 1080P with SBS with Tridef or Reshade, what is the resolution of the giant screen assuming the headset environment itself is 1440P and that the screen doesn’t fill it all?

Also, assuming I can inject 3d SBS in a regular PC game, not VR, could I just simply use the headset as a normal display to play? What resolution would I put the game at in that case, and why is Virtual Desktp better?

And last, how is text browsing the web in VD with the Pimax 4K?

Well, sorry for all these questions, but I really want to understand properly!
Thank you

Okay here goes the overal picture is rendered at 1440p (25601440) its the upscaled to 2160p (38402160)

Now what you see is half as the screen is divided into 2 screens (per eye).

Now screen is 16:9 for the complete panel. However you see 8:9 picture. [( )( )]

So per eye is (12801440 upscaled to 19202160)

Now with the 4k model it was made for normal vision & myopia. If your far sighted it takes a work around to get the best picture (mod requiring lens over)

The other key flaw is soft ipd if your ipd is far wide or really narrow. You will expereince some eye strain (bug/cross eyed).